Longcatislong

7+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2010
Status
Dental Student
I'm applying to formal post-bac programs right now (Mills, SFSU and CSU East Bay). In Spring 2011, however, I would like to get a head start on some courses by taking pre-calc and general bio through Open University at SFSU. Has anyone had experience taking classes through Open University at a large state school? My concern is that they'll be hard to get into since, as a non-registered student, I'll be lowest priority on the registration list.

kkw002

7+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2010
Status
Medical Student
I'm applying to formal post-bac programs right now (Mills, SFSU and CSU East Bay). In Spring 2011, however, I would like to get a head start on some courses by taking pre-calc and general bio through Open University at SFSU. Has anyone had experience taking classes through Open University at a large state school? My concern is that they'll be hard to get into since, as a non-registered student, I'll be lowest priority on the registration list.
I went to SDSU for open university. Yes you'll definitely be of lowest priority, but then it wasn't hard for me to get into the classes, simply because they want your money (ya $200/unit). They basically just opened up another section just for us open university students when we couldn't get into the regular sections. But obviously you would not have much flexibility on the schedules since you'll have to take whatever they open up. So I had to make adjustments on my work schedule after my classes at SDSU were finalized. This was for SDSU and I don't know how it is at SFSU, but I just think it shouldn't be hard to get in the class you want, assuming you are able to take whatever spot opens up. Hope this helps.

OP
Longcatislong

Longcatislong

7+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2010
Status
Dental Student
Thank you!