Success Story- acceptance into PT school with low cGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BananaSlug2PT

Reaction score
I debated whether to post this because I feel like my path is not the norm; but I remember being frantic last year stalking the forums looking for any sliver of hope that there would be a chance I could get into PT school. So while I am not sure if this will have any specific advice that helps anyone, perhaps it will give someone that hope you need to not give up, and to just try.

TLDR: I was accepted into a PT school after my first round of applying so don't give up, hopefully you can too. General tips after my story

I graduated undergrad with a degree in Biology and 2.8 cGPA. I knew this was not reflective of the best of my abilities but I had some big stuff happen while I was in college which resulted in me not doing as well as I had hoped. I spent the next year working at an Out Patient Clinic and taking some pre-req classes that my major did not require but I needed for PT school apps. Also decided to retake the full year of Bio to show that I could do well in the series. While I knew my GPA was horrible, I did not realize how bad a shape I was in when it came time to apply because most schools require above a 3.0 cGPA. I had sort of thought this was a suggestion, and schools would look past this at the other parts of my application, and then consider me. This was definitely not the case, and I when I started looking into schools I wanted to apply to I started freaking out about how I was not even qualified to apply to most schools.