Summer between M1 & M2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShySpliceosome

Microbe lover
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an MS1 just beginning my second semester, and I am interested in general surgery. I am an out-of-state student, and I am planning to spend this summer with my family. I am in the process of applying to a med student summer research program at a university close to where my family lives, but if I end up not getting accepted to it and end up not doing research between M1 and M2, is that a bad thing? I would rather not do out-of-state research due to the cost of temporary housing as well as the fact that I would most likely be away from my family for 2 out of 3 months at the least (family time is valuable to me :)). I wouldn't mind a month-long out-of-state summer research program, but the ones I've looked at are 8-12 weeks.
Another option that I am considering is a 4-week medical summer outreach program that includes physician shadowing and medical volunteer work in an underserved community.

I have several questions:

1.) Is general surgery a highly competitive residency? I read somewhere that it is moderately competitive, but I'm not sure how reliable that source was.
2.) Is research practically a requirement to enter a surgery residency?
3.) Does summer research hold more weight (versus a medical summer outreach program) when it comes to being accepted to a residency program?
4.) Are there usually alternative opportunities for research during the clinical years? If so, is it advantageous to do research sooner (M1-M2) rather than later (M3-M4)?

(I realize that my interest in surgery may change in the next few years, and that I may not end up choosing surgery as my specialty, but I just want to be well prepared if I do end up going that route.)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If God leads you to it, He will lead you through it.

Reactions: 1 user