Summer job as pharmacy intern?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharm47

Just keep running...
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it hard to get a position in the summer as a pharmacy intern? I've been considering quitting my job to get into a pharmacy as a tech, so when summers roll around between P1-P2 and P2-P3 I can work fulltime as an intern, however, I haven't had much luck. One pharmacy said they didn't want to train me as a tech, since I'll be leaving in the fall for school anyway. Should I really pursure this NOW, or can I wait until I'm a fulltime pharm student, and find something for the summer?

Members don't see this ad.

well your going to HAVE to work as your tech in the future. you're required a certain amount of hours teching before you get your license. If you can find a place that will hire you as a tech, i don't think it would hurt at all.

Is it hard to get a position in the summer as a pharmacy intern? I've been considering quitting my job to get into a pharmacy as a tech, so when summers roll around between P1-P2 and P2-P3 I can work fulltime as an intern, however, I haven't had much luck. One pharmacy said they didn't want to train me as a tech, since I'll be leaving in the fall for school anyway. Should I really pursure this NOW, or can I wait until I'm a fulltime pharm student, and find something for the summer?