summer science grades ---> when to reapply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jdr55

15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Recall that the AMCAS form allows you to list in-progress and future classes. I see no reason to delay your application for the small increase in GPA (I assume you mean a +0.1 increase) those classes will provide, when applying early gives such an advantage. You can communicate your great grades in the summer classes via "Update Letter" to those schools that show an interest in you, just as you would your fall semester grades.

I'm in a similar situation... I applied this past cycle with 3.21 BCPM, 3.54 overall, 31 MCAT. I graduated last December, but I'm planning to go back to school over the summer and take 4 upper division bio classes. Assuming I get A's in them, my stats would go up to 3.34 sci, 3.61 overall.

Is this enough to make a difference to the adcoms? If i send an update letter with this info, will they actually recalculate my gpa? I had planned on working in the fall, hopefully at a hospital/ medical office, but would you recommend I take more classes instead?

I'm in a similar situation... I applied this past cycle with 3.21 BCPM, 3.54 overall, 31 MCAT. I graduated last December, but I'm planning to go back to school over the summer and take 4 upper division bio classes. Assuming I get A's in them, my stats would go up to 3.34 sci, 3.61 overall.

Is this enough to make a difference to the adcoms? If i send an update letter with this info, will they actually recalculate my gpa? I had planned on working in the fall, hopefully at a hospital/ medical office, but would you recommend I take more classes instead?

I'm sure you might get extremely variable feedback on your questions. Here is my opinion: