Surgery and Stuttering

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trogdor41

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student with a mild to moderate stutter. I'm finding myself to be really interested in surgery, but I'm unsure about how/if my speech impediment will affect my ability to be an excellent surgeon. Does anyone know of a surgeon who stutters? Is there a significant chance that taking longer to say something/issue a command will negatively affect my patients? Are there specific surgical fields where this might be less of an issue?

I'm not looking for a pep talk here. Just honest opinions. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a medical student with a mild to moderate stutter. I'm finding myself to be really interested in surgery, but I'm unsure about how/if my speech impediment will affect my ability to be an excellent surgeon. Does anyone know of a surgeon who stutters? Is there a significant chance that taking longer to say something/issue a command will negatively affect my patients? Are there specific surgical fields where this might be less of an issue?

I'm not looking for a pep talk here. Just honest opinions. Thanks.

One of my cardiothoracic attendings had a pretty good stutter. He was the section chief.

Members don't see this ad :)
you can do it, I would be more concerned if you wanted to be a psych

Lemme say that one of my fellows was deaf and required hearing aids. And he didn't always hear everything. If you can tolerate the possibility of jokes being made about your issue when you screw up, it's no issue. Surgeons just want someone that can be trained to be a good surgeon so it doesn't seem like stuttering will be an issue.