Switching into Anesthesiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gator1990

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

New to the forum here but have been reading for years for advice.

I’m currently an EM resident - PGY-1, but am realizing that EM just isn’t for me (its a lot of stuff that I don’t want to delve into). I seriously considered anesthesia during my 4th year of medical school but allowed my fears of encroachment, job security etc. to take over which I know is stupid. The only specialties I contemplated at the time were Em and anesthesia. So I just wanted some advice on how to go about applying to anesthesia for advanced applicants? Or if any others have done it if they could share any helpful information. I’m terrified of letting my PD know and just want to make sure i have a game plan before approaching him. Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

Get in touch with the PD of your anesthesia program at your hospital. Our program takes one advanced applicant a year, the last couple years have been people from other specialties in our hospital. If you have a good current PD, he or she should have your best interest in mind, so if this is what you really want to do, he or she should be supportive since I don't think they want to work with an unhappy resident. I would also do some additional anesthesia rotations if possible to 1. make sure anesthesia is right 2. show your abilities and interest. In the meantime, keep working hard in the ED.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I agree with everything suggested above, but I wanted to add a couple of things that may effect your planning.