Switching residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medsurg

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. So I am a surgery intern. My first month is in the SICU which I actually really enjoy. I was pretty unhappy on match day when I found out I matched at my 9th choice, but I moved to the area with the complete intention of putting my best foot forward, working hard, and making the best of the situation. However, I am very unhappy at this program. I realize this is just the first few weeks, but I was unsure about surgery from the beginning. I loved it during medical school and thought I would give it a shot because I'd regret not knowing if it was for me or not. I have decided it is not for me. I do not mind the work at all and actually enjoy taking care of pre and post surgical patients, but the environment is horrendous. The residents constantly find something to yell at you about or embarass you in front of everyone. I expected such treatment from attendings, but not from fellow residents. There is not an iota of professionalism in this residency program...at least not amongst residents. I am sure that there are much worse programs than this, but I do not thrive in this environment. Toward the end of my 4th year of medical school, I became more interested in family medicine and love outpatient work. I am pretty sure I'd like to switch into that or IM.

That being said, I would really appreciate hearing from others that have switched residencies how they went about it. When is a good time to tell the PD? Should I go through the match again or try to speak to hospitals individually? Any and all help would be wonderful!

Members don't see this ad.