T20 Schools Deferment Policy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mreyno18

Reaction score
I’m kind of in a dilemma. I’m a student athlete, so I can’t really take a gap year in the middle of my four years of college. However at the same time I feel really called to take a year off and do a one-year global health focused Christian missions program in Australia through a large missions ministry called YWAM. Therefore, my only choice is to go after I graduate. I would be going from early July 2022 to late June 2023. However, I also don’t want to take more than 1 year off. So this would only work if I apply after my junior year (Summer 2021) and do the interview process fall of my senior year (Fall 2021) and then defer for a year. I am a model applicant (gpa, double science major, many hours of club leadership/tutoring/TAing, lots of volunteering (clinical and non), medical internship, lots of shadowing, lots of research experience/presentations, NCAA athlete, etc.) so I’m aiming high! I’m aiming to go to a T20 medical school.

So my question is a two parter:
1. What are the deferment policies of T20 schools?
2. Would they count this as an acceptable gap year for deferment?

Members don't see this ad.

I’d assume it goes on a school by school basis, but a simple google search tells me HMS “approves requests for deferral on a case-by-case basis. Accepted students who would like to apply for deferral must submit a request stating their reason for requesting deferral and their proposed plans for the duration of the deferral.”

I guess the worst case scenario would be they say no and you get to go to medical school lol

• Haha
Reactions: 1 users