Taking DAT late August--too late?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

miravyn

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I haven't taken my DAT. I'm planning on taking it late August and turning in applcation in mid-June. I hear it takes AADSAS around 6-8 months to process your application so I have time in between to take the DAT. Do you think taking the DAT late August is too late? I am panicking a little because I feel like I have nothing...no DAT. I don't even know what schools to apply for since I haven't taken my DAT yet. To be honest, I would only apply to two, UCLA and USC, but it's a little risky to apply to just two schools. My GPA is decent: overall GPA of 3.763 and science of about 3.65 at UCLA (major is Biochem and minor is public health). However, I was a dumb high school student who took several math classes and earned a B and C so that will totally drop my AADSAS GPA. I wish they had told us to not screw up when taking classes at a community college. Also, I have a lot of extracurricular activities like working at a dental clinic and holding several leadership positions. If I don't get into UCLA or USC, I really do consider waiting another year. I don't want to go out of state or even up north. For people who have gotten in UCLA, do I stand a chance. Not having a DAT scores is really making me nervous.

Members don't see this ad.

miravyn said: