Taking ONE pre-med req at CC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kape1one

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey SDN,

I have a very simple question.

First off, I'm a freshman at UC Berkeley.

Can I take a pre-med req(ONLY one) in a CC during the summer? Will it affect my admissions. The classes I am thinking of taking is Organic Chem-Lab. I'm taking Orgo lecture right now and have taken gen chem already. The reason for taking in a CC is the price, not because it is easier. I do not qualify for any fiancial aid, so I would have to pay $2,000 just for one class! While at my CC, it will be less than $200!.

Will it work?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You'll be fine. Try searching for the 800 other threads on this topic.

Consensus seems to be: Don't take them if you're trying to go for an easy grade, or if it will look to adcoms like you're going for the easy grade.

Do take them if they are your only option, if you are a postbacc and cannot take them elsewhere (although postbaccs should still try to take most of their classes at an extension program or a postbacc at a 4 year), if you already have or eventually will have 4 year upper level science course grades that are/will be decent, or if you are only taking a handful of them total.

Also, get A's if you take them at CC.

Thanks ljc!

Anyone else? HAs any student done that in the past?

Members don't see this ad :)
You could take all of them at a CC if you want. Just get good grades on prereqs, do well on your upper division courses, great on MCAT, good ECs and you'll be fine.

Use the search button to find the other 9809897987086786986 threads on this.

Hey SDN,

I have a very simple question.

First off, I'm a freshman at UC Berkeley.