1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Taking that Dreaded First Step

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by brainnurse, Sep 7, 2014.

1. brainnurse

brainnurse Inquisitor, Assassin, High Summoner
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hello, everyone. After lurking obsessively for a while now, I finally decided to join the fray and say, "Hi," to everyone. I've read many of your stories. I would even go on to say that this forum is one of the many reasons I am once again starting this journey. Here's my background:

I'm a 26y/o ADN-prepared ICU nurse with a noncompetitive GPA because of (1) two years of foreign college classes taken for personal enrichment eight years ago; (2) not realizing said classes would ever matter until it was way, way, waaaay too late; and (3) apathy during nursing school. For as long as I could remember, medicine has had its cruel, unrelenting claws dug into me. I tried to run from the desire so many times because I knew pursuing it would be unreasonable. I saw what that profession did to my parents. I see what it's doing to my PGY-3 boyfriend, our friends, and most of the physicians I work with. I know what kind of debt I will incur. For months at a time, I would be convinced that I've shaken it -- that I'll be a CRNA or a NP instead -- but that peace never lasts. The heart wants what it wants, so the saying goes.