Taking the DAT before taking Orgo II

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lobstermobster

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I have a question concerning the DAT and Orgo II. I REALLY want to take the DAT at the end of next summer (this would be the summer before my junior year). However, I will not have taken Orgo II by this time. I was thinking I would just try to teach myself and study it to the best of my ability, but is a good score in the organic chemistry section a realistic possibility without actually taking it in college? I'm a pretty good student, and I think I'll be fine, I just don't know if I'm being irrational in assuming I can teach myself all the material included in an Orgo II course. Any input regarding this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

There is a good amount of orgo 2 material on the DAT, and I would advise you take the class prior to taking the DAT. Besides, it is not necessary to take the DAT the summer before your junior year. Are you trying to apply after 3 years of undergrad? You also have the option to take the DAT during your winter or spring break of your junior year and that way have already taken orgo 2 and study on and off during the semester. But if you have a good work ethic and be able to go through orgo 2 material, then go ahead and take it. Orgo is not a cakewalk for many people and it may be more difficult then you think.