Taking two gaps years to apply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

serendipity14

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’m not sure if there was a post like this around already, I couldn’t find one, but I wanted insight on anyone who has/is planning on taking two gap years from undergrad to applying to vet school. If you are/did, why and do you regret it? Thank you in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I had two gap years cause I was waitlisted at K-State and never pulled off the waitlist. I had made the decision to only apply three times before moving on with life. My first gap year, I spent taking extra classes to improve my GPA and worked at two vet clinics and a doggie daycare. My second gap year, I worked as a residence director for my undergrad because I was starting to think of alternative careers and it was a really good job opportunity.

My first gap year was very meh as both vet clinics showed me more of what I *wouldn't* want in a clinic to work in. My second gap year was amazing and I'm so glad I went for the job opportunity (though at the time there was some personal issues that I had to work through).

Depending on how you define a gap year, I took two gap years. I graduated from undergrad and knew I didn't have sufficient experience to get in. So rather than cramming my final pre-requisites into the summer and applying for vet school, I took 2 years and got a Master's in veterinary science. I added large animal experience I hadn't previously had, picked up 900 more hours of animal experience and 450 veterinary research hours, and got a great recommender in the process. I do not regret it at all. I really enjoyed myself for those two years, and I think I grew a lot as a person as well. I honestly think that, for me personally, taking gap years was better than going straight from undergrad into vet school.