target pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yubjun

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i just started training with target.. does anyone work here as an part time pharmacist??? how is it?? is it as flexable as they say their hours are??

Members don't see this ad.

i just started training with target.. does anyone work here as an part time pharmacist??? how is it?? is it as flexable as they say their hours are??

In this area, each Target has two pharmacists who are partners. They split the time between them. So, if you need a day off, you can just swap that day with your partner. You don't need to go through any other scheduling process.

I'm thinking about working for Target also after school. I know that the work environment depends on each stores but how would you characterize the culture of the company? Are they supportive of pharmacists? How about opportunities for patient care? Thanks

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey guys....I worked for Target as an intern for 4 years and I have also provided relief work for them as an RPH. Here are a few of the problems I have witnessed with Target:

1) As an RPH it is very hard to get time off. If your partner is unable/unwilling to help out then it becomes difficult. Most Targets have a float or on-call group of part timers that are sent around to help out. There again - it depends on their schedules - most have other pharmacy jobs outside of Target.

2) Most Target pharmacies are now 9-9:00. They do have a 1/2 hour for lunch and the pharmacy is closed - however - if a patient walks up to the window at 1:28 and wants their rx filled and cannot wait or come back - you have to fill it. So if you finish filling at 1:45 you only get 15 minutes etc.. The policy for all stores is a scheduled and posted closing from 1:30 - 2:00. You are not allowed to close before that time and you must re-open on time - regardless.