Tech vs UNM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which med school should my friend go to?

• Texas Tech

Votes: 10 37.0%
  • University of New Mexico

Votes: 12 44.4%
  • They are both very close look at financial aid

Votes: 1 3.7%
  • tough call either way

Votes: 4 14.8%

• Total voters

Falco2525

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay guys I have a friend who needs some input...University of New Mexico Med or Texas Tech Med...any pros or cons to either school would be appreciated also which would you choose?

Members don't see this ad.

bumping because my friend really needs help

Well, tuition-wise, obviously they should go to wherever they have residency. Now, I am a New Mexico resident, but went to school in Texas (so I guess I'm a little New Mexico bias). I would personally go to UNM, for a number of reasons:

1) I like pbl a lot, and UNM is very pbl heavy
2) The class size at UNM is MUCH smaller, only around 80 people, which gives you a lot more personal attention.
3) Albuquerque is a much better place to live than Lubbock. My bro is currently the T.V. meteorologist in Lubbock and hates it. It is the most conservative city in the nation, but if that floats your boat, then go for it. If you like the outdoors, you really cannot beat New Mexico, and Burque is dirt cheap to live in.
4) Also, if he/she were thinking about primary care, then UNM is a well-known school, especially for GP.