Termination sadness

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor Bagel

so cheap and juicy
Moderator Emeritus
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm graduating and not setting up a private practice next year, which means I'm terminating with all my patients, including people I've been working with for close to 3 years. Right now, I'm feeling incredibly sad about this. It's amazing how attached we get to our patients. Anybody else out there feeling this sadness?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Yes. 8 months out from termination, I still wonder about some of my closest patients and feel a sense of loss. Of course, some may follow you into your new practice. I had 3 patients do so, even though my new practice setting is 150 miles from where I trained. It seemed frankly absurd to me, but patients value a relationship, it seems.

Yes. 8 months out from termination, I still wonder about some of my closest patients and feel a sense of loss. Of course, some may follow you into your new practice. I had 3 patients do so, even though my new practice setting is 150 miles from where I trained. It seemed frankly absurd to me, but patients value a relationship, it seems.

Well, I'm doing a fellowship, so no following. I would really like to have at least a parttime private practice after that, so maybe some of them will find me in the future. That's amazing that patients will go 150 miles to see you -- it suggests you're doing something right.

Yeah, I think in residency clinics we undervalue how important these relationships are. We expect patients to tolerate transfers in providers every one to three years. I don't think I'd tolerate it well.

Members don't see this ad :)