Terrified by Loan Debt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AuDlyEnough

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this forum, but it seems everytime I look up anything related to fellow AuD students, this forum comes up-- so I figured it was about time to join! Anyway, I am a first year AuD student at a pretty expensive school. My reasons for choosing this school were not the best-- it's close to where I grew up, and close to where my whole family lives. Also, when I was applying, it seemed that the cost of out-of-state tuition vs. the cost of a private school was not too different, and there was not much selection with in-state schools. AND my school offered me a $20,000 grant and a 1 year research assistantship. Here are my issues-- I feel that they led me to believe that the grant was not a one time deal, and that the assistantship could possibly be extended so long as I kept my grades up-- I maintained about a 3.7 average for my first year, but found out about a month ago that there will be no additional funding beyond this point, regardless of my grades or performance. I'm at a school that costs about $45,000/year in tuition with no way to pay for it other than loans and menial jobs that I can (hopefully) get. I will have well over $100,000 in debt when I get out of here, and there's no way that I'll be making over $100,000 to start (or really ever). I'm nervous that I simply won't have enough money to repay these loans, even living VERY modestly and working VERY hard (which I've done for the last 5 years, so I'm sure I could do it for longer if necessary). Does anyone have any advice? Am I panicking for no reason? Also, telling me I was stupid to get myself into this situation is not really necesary, since I'm well aware of that already.

Members don't see this ad.