TEVAR drain

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anbuitachi

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Recently saw a board practice question about lumbar drains in TEVAR and the recommendation is to postpone the case if it was a traumatic lumbar drain placement due to lots of heparinization and a very high risk of epidural hematoma.

Just wondering what people do in their practice. It's not that uncommon to see blood tinged CSF especially with a 14 g needle. Also occasionally see the red blood presumedly from an epidural vein you hit. When do you guys actually tell the surgeon you are cancelling cause you hit a vein??

Members don't see this ad.

IME it is very uncommon to see blood. Whenever possible I sit them up so I know I’m midline, LOR to NS, then stylette back in. Puncture the dura which is very easy to feel because you get a lot of tactile feedback with the big needle. I’ve been doing 1-2 per month for the last 5+ years and haven’t had to cancel one yet. All of them were big gushes of clear CSF. I do get a paresthesia almost every time I advance the catheter and warn the patients ahead of time.

Reactions: 1 users
IME it is very uncommon to see blood. Whenever possible I sit them up so I know I’m midline, LOR to NS, then stylette back in. Puncture the dura which is very easy to feel because you get a lot of tactile feedback with the big needle. I’ve been doing 1-2 per month for the last 5+ years and haven’t had to cancel one yet. All of them were big gushes of clear CSF. I do get a paresthesia almost every time I advance the catheter and warn the patients ahead of time.

Why bother to get LOR?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If CSF is not completely clear, case cancelled and delayed until next day.

If there’s a tiny tinge or blood we’ll drain more CSF then make sure it clears up.

really? i feel like tactile is not that great especially in these old sclerotic backs

Pitfalls?