Medical Texas applicant advice for MCAT and application 1.5 yrs. away

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I'm loving this forum.
I have a few questions I was hoping you all could shed some light on from past or present experience with their application and MCAT. I’m a sophomore don’t now and it’s technically my sophomore year however that is because of dual and AP credit, thus, it’s my first year on campus. I mention this to add that due to this I am on an “accelerated path” and haven’t had much time to join clubs since it’s my first semester on a traditional college campus.

My college GPA right now with 39 credits is a 4.0, my science GPA with 12 credits is also a 4.0. So I’m definitely focusing on academics as this is an important aspect of medical school applicants.

Anyways, Id like to list what I am doing now and what I plan to do so that I could get some suggestions and advice for my medical school application path.

Essentially, as far as metrics my grades are good, and I will continue to do well in my courses. I have a scholarship due to my SAT score.

1) For shadowing, I’ve been shadowing radiologists and interventional radiologists and have over 95 hours so far. I plan on getting 16 hours per month until the MCAT and apps so I’ll have around 350-400 shadowing.

2) For clinical, I applied for a job as a patient care associate- I’ll essentially be helping the nurses take vitals, take care of patients, feed the patients, change linens, transfer the patients to their procedures, etc. I’d be working nights 6pm-3am, 2 days a week. I only have classes 3 times a week and am taking 16 hours, so this works well for me. So I’ll have around 800-900 hours of this form of clinical.

3) Additionally, I plan on shadowing a sports medicine surgeon 2 Thursday’s a month for 6 hours. So I will have 150 hours “clinicing” a surgeon.