Textbooks good for step 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeoAnderson

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to you all,

I am studying in a greek university and the coming year the subjects that I have are Pathology, Pathophysiology, Pharmacology and Microbiology.
In order to prepare better for the Step 1, I am considering reading from english textbooks for the subjects above during the coursework.
Robbins pathologic basis of disease, Lange pathophysiology and Microbiology MRS.
What's your opinion?
As far as pharmacology is concerned, am I better off buying Rang and Dale's or Harvey?
(My medical school already provides me with a free Harvey 4th edition in Greek)

Thanks a ton.

Members don't see this ad.

1) For Path/ Pathophysio use Pathoma or Goljan RR whichever you prefer.
2) For Pharma Kaplan Lec. notes are good
3) For Micro CMMRS
4) This is most important, get your copy of First Aid (this is enough for micro and pharma) and compliment with UWorld.

Also, have a look at other students' exam experiences. There are excellent posts in the thread.

Peace zealot, thank you for your valuable help.
Your recommendations are about review resources. What I am asking about is recommendations about reference textbooks for the first time reading on each subject.

Peace zealot, thank you for your valuable help.
Your recommendations are about review resources. What I am asking about is recommendations about reference textbooks for the first time reading on each subject.

Path/Pathophysio = Robbins Basic Pathology (NOT the humongous Pathologic Basis of Disease... I'm talking about the MEDIUM Robbins with a cartoon of a cell/organelles on the cover)

Micro = CMMRS as peace zealot advised. It's good enough for 1st time learners and quite comprehensive, yet boards-relevant

Pharm = no need to read a textbook on this. Really just study FA pharm

Members don't see this ad :)