Thank you letters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monica949

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone think it may be a good idea to send thank you letters to schools they've interviewed at? I thought about doing this particularly for schools I'm really hoping to hear from, but thought it may be a bit on the cheesy side, so I thought I'd consult with people.

If anyone does think that sending a thank you letter is a good idea, when would be a good time to send it? Obviously after interviewing would make the most sense, but I've heard people send it after hearing that they've been rejected and recieving an offer later when an extra seat became available...... what do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

I have no experience with this. However, sending a thank-you letter certainly couldn't hurt. It's commonplace in a business setting to send a thank-you letter after an interview, but I've never heard of doing so after an interview to graduate school.

My only advice, if you do decide to do it, would be to send an actual letter. Do NOT email a thank you letter, as that will appear lazy and half-hearted.

Does anyone think it may be a good idea to send thank you letters to schools they've interviewed at? I thought about doing this particularly for schools I'm really hoping to hear from, but thought it may be a bit on the cheesy side, so I thought I'd consult with people.

If anyone does think that sending a thank you letter is a good idea, when would be a good time to send it? Obviously after interviewing would make the most sense, but I've heard people send it after hearing that they've been rejected and recieving an offer later when an extra seat became available...... what do you think?

This topic has been covered before. Use the search function to find the pertinent threads. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)