The practical side of a midlevel career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BruceBanner

strongest one there is
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all-

I’ve been a member of this board for a couple years, and I'm at a bit of a personal crossroads.

A little background—I went to college at 23 after working for a few years with the objective of becoming a PA. I graduated with honors in pre-med, have good grades and a lot of varied EC experiences. I volunteered, did some sports, shadowed, lab work, research, tutored, etc…I now work as a senior research asst at Mass General. I will have several first author pubs by next year; one is coming soon. I’ll also have 2-3 second author pubs. I took my MCAT twice, did horrible the first time, and a little better the second time (26Q). I applied MD/DO late last year, got waitlisted at a DO program, and did not get in. Now I am in the midst of my second app cycle, this time all DO. I have one interview so far in Sept. I will be 28 in November. I chose not to take my MCAT a third time for practical/financial reasons---personal choice.