Therapy and medication: Can we have one without the other?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brightness

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been an undergrad psych major and a psych patient, and I've done therapy and medication for treatment. Until I decided to try medication, I was 100% on the path to becoming a clinical psychologist. However, after some symptoms became worse, and at the recommendation of a trusted psychologist, I decided to try medication. Within 6 months I experienced a strong turnaround and relief that was...well, it seemed miraculous. From that time on, I stopped being sure about being a clinical psychologist and explored a lot of career paths; however, I always stayed interested in mental health.

My biggest question is whether or not I want to be a practitioner in the mental health field that cannot prescribe medication. I want to know what a psychologist has to offer that a psychiatrist trained in therapy doesn't...and furthermore, can a psychologist fully treat the symptoms of mental illness despite the inability to presribe? For years and years I went through psychotherapy, but I needed the combination of medication to help me get "leveled out" (as leveled out as I'll ever be!). I really want to know what a psychologist offers a client that a psychiatrist doesn't.

What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

Usually psychologists work in tandem with someone who can prescribe, either a psychiatrist or the person's HMO.

As for the difference, not all psychiatrists offer talk therapy. Some do, but not all of them.

Well first it's important to keep in mind that the huge population that uses the mental health field is extremely varied. There are people with different disorders/issues/problems than your own that may need only medication, only therapy, or a combination of both.