Things I should change??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nalsjewels

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am wondering, if I need to reapply next year, what are things I should change about my application? I am a California resident from a very small rural town who graduated from undergrad in 2015 from a top 10 school and applied this cycle. So far I only have one II and lots of rejections/silences.

1800+ hours of working as an EMT-B with my university's 911 service
120 hours of doing clinical hours in the ED, peds ED and maternity word as part of the clinical requirements of the EMT-Intermediate course, working alongside physicians and nurses: took pt histories, vital signs, IV's, med admins, etc)
1 yr of working in the Middle East as high school science teacher for disadvantaged/displaced communities
1 yr volunteering with locally resettled refugees, teaching English and helping them settle into their new communities
Two summers in the Middle East interning with development/human rights NGOs
3 years working in biology research lab but no publications
2 years working on research project concerned with refugee health issues, paper currently in progress with a professor and fellow student and completed extensive field work with health related NGOs

My cGPA is 3.61 and MCAT is 510. My undergrad sGPA is a 3.45, with a strong upward trend during my last 2 years. I completed 6 post bacc courses in physics and advanced bio courses at my local university (UCSD) and received A's in all those courses.
(I had a C+ in Ochem 1 and a B- in inorganic chem 2, but there was significant personal challenges I had to overcome, as described in my personal statement. My personal statement was read over by several people, all said it was very strong)

I know I submitted my application on the later side (AMCAS verified Aug 25, secondaries submitted from September-end of October).

My school list:

II: