Thinking of switching to full-time scrubs - your thoughts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iladelphia

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posting to get some thoughts from my fellow SDNers. As a background, I'm an established physician in private practice - multiple subspecialties.

I have three kids. Since COVID pandemic began and I've been working, my wife and I have come up with a system where as soon as I get home I take my work clothes off in the garage in a designated area, place them directly in the washing machine, and head straight to the shower. I do this I guess to theoretically decrease the chances of spreading virus to my family. I think many nurses and physicians have a similar system.

Problem is my "nice work clothes" are getting pretty beat up with this system. I've been thinking about transitioning to full-time scrub wear in the clinic and OR. Feel like this is more sanitary and then I don't really care if the scrubs get beat up due to the excessive washing. Thoughts? Unprofessional? Does anyone else do something similar? I guess I could step it up and buy "nicer scrubs", possibly with some embroidery.

Or should I just stick to the same old tired work clothes. A silly topic I know - but hey we all need a little silliness right now.

Hope everyone is hanging in there!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Retina Fellow here,