Thoughts on: (A) 1-year MBA... (B) between 3rd-4th year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pachewisc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm an M1 (now an M2 as of fall 2014) at an MD school. When applying to medical school, I aimed to get into a school with an MD/MBA program, but it didn't happen (oh well). Trying to look on the positive side, I was thinking about getting an MBA between 3rd and 4th years from a 1-year MBA program. This means I would still graduate in 5-years like the typical MD/MBA. I already talked with my school's administration, and they're completely fine with and supportive of the idea.

I came to med school directly from undergrad, where I earned a Minor in Business. I have some work experience as a student leader and >2years of part time research. I'm beefing up my "business application" in medical school through lots of experience and leadership, and I plan on taking the GMAT this summer (update: scored >700). Despite all this, I still presume my biggest drawback when applying will be my lack of "true business experience." That being said, I'm hoping things pan out and I can get into one of the better 1-year MBA programs.

What I'm wondering is:
  1. Does anyone have any experience going this route? How do independent MBA programs view an MD student relative to the average applicant?
  2. Would between 3rd and 4th year be the best time? I figured getting it after 4th year would make matching a mess, and after 2nd year would make the transition into 3rd year very challenging.
  3. Any other thoughts, advice, etc.?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey there,

Maybe I can help with some of your questions.

1. Can't help there. I am a typical MD/MBA who graduated in 5 years.