Thoughts on Cornell and Columbia?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dottore07

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to SDN, but I was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback about Cornell vs. Columbia in terms of clinical exposure, location, student body, etc since I'm not familiar with NYC (I'm also considering applying to Mt. Sinai and NYU so you can throw them into the mix too if you would like) Thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

as far as location goes...

Columbia is way up north by the GW bridge. It's not a postcard part of manhattan, but its not dangerous either (just dont stray too far south :)).
Cornell is on the east side, in a pretty good area. It is right next to Memorial Sloan Kettering, so definetly the place to be if you want to do oncology. Mt. Sinai is in the upper-east side, in a very expensive part of manhattan. It's across the street from central park, and a few blocks away from the MET. Definetly a beautiful part of town. NYU is also on the east side, about 30 blocks lower than Weill. I'm not too familiar with the neighborhood where NYU is, but what I hear its great.

as far as curriculum,
Columbia is known for a very traditional teaching style, with lots of large lectures. Cornell, on the other hand, likes to use PBL a lot. All 4 schools are great.

hmm, these questions and responses sound familiar. where have i heard them before? oh yeah, i heard this lecture back at Search U.

Members don't see this ad :)
Doctor~Detroit said:
hmm, these questions and responses sound familiar. where have i heard them before? oh yeah, i heard this lecture back at Search U.

cornell is probably in a better area than "pretty nice" from what I hear it is often referred to as "gucci medschool"