• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Time Management and Being Competitive

eric23

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 8, 2005
Illinois
  1. Pre-Medical
    SDN,

I know there was just a similar post, but I really needed some advice on my own situation.

I am in my second semester of my junior year. I will be applying this june as soon as the application is available. I have not taken the DAT yet...and studying for it this semester and taking it before I apply seems difficult. Would it be totally reasonable for me to take the DAT at the end of July for example. I understand that it takes a while for the application to go though which would give me plenty of time to take the DAT so that dental schools get everything on time. (Sorry bout the run on sentence). I will apply with a 3.4 GPA 3.3 Science...and I want to be as competative as possible. Should I rush, cram, and take the DAT before I apply? Or will I still be competative taking the DAT after I apply?

Many Thanks,

Eric

airvent

10+ Year Member
    5+ Year Member
    Jul 5, 2004
      Most schools wait until your application is complete. DAT + LOR + ADSAS befor they evaluate you and invite you for an interview.

If it is complete in the Adcoms hands by:
      July = awesome
      Aug = very good
      Sept = still good but Aug is better
      Oct = Ok
      Nov = pushing it

so take the dat in late July if you like. I took it Aug 8... My LORs were not sent until late mid september thanks to my slow Pre-Professional advisor. But,had interviews in November anyway

egpndoc

10+ Year Member
      5+ Year Member
      Jan 27, 2005
      So Cal
        eric23 said:
        SDN,

I know there was just a similar post, but I really needed some advice on my own situation.