Timeline question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peony

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm a post-bacc student (thus, I don't have any type of pre-med advisor), so I'm a little confused about the timeline for all this.

I understand that I can start my AMCAS at the beginning of May and submit it at the beginning of June. If I take the May 22nd MCAT, will that delay anything? I can't figure out whether I can submit the AMCAS without my MCAT score being in. Thanks SO much!!

Members don't see this ad.

It will delay things slightly, but I've been told a delay of a few weeks will have little impact on your application overall.

One option you have is to take your MCAT in April. If you do, you'll get your scores back in plenty of time. If however, you feel that you won't be ready in April, I would imagine most people would trade 2-3 points on the MCAT for a 2-3 week "late" application.

Hi guys! I'm a post-bacc student (thus, I don't have any type of pre-med advisor), so I'm a little confused about the timeline for all this.

I understand that I can start my AMCAS at the beginning of May and submit it at the beginning of June. If I take the May 22nd MCAT, will that delay anything? I can't figure out whether I can submit the AMCAS without my MCAT score being in. Thanks SO much!!

Just submit when you're ready. Your MCAT scores will be back by the time schools receive primaries in late June.

Members don't see this ad :)