Oct 31, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Hello all

Just looking for a bit of advice for future competitiveness.

A bit about myself:

I had some circumstances in my undergrad that prevented me from attaining stellar scores - family needing my assistance to provide, and some immaturity of course (as this was never my intended path until after I graduated from a NON SCIENCE undergrad). Either way, I busted my hump to save up enough money and applied/got accepted to a Caribbean school.

Clinical experience is low (once more, as this was never my intended path I had a late start to resume building): Approx 1 yr in an ophthalmology clinic, plus a couple short term observerships.
I work extremely hard now and do well - NBME shelf exams, always 500+. I will be sitting for step 1 in Summer of 2014 after a few months of dedicated preparation.

Assuming the standard "do well on step 1" advice, what can anyone recommend an IMG do to prove oneself and improve chances? I just need to beef up the resume/supplement scores.
I know my past decisions/mistakes are present, and unfortunately cant change. No excuses however, and I just want to get the job done.

I have been doing some observerships in between semesters in hopes of allowing physicians in my home area to get to know me a little better. Nurses have mentioned to me that I stick out as very eager to get involved/ask Q's so I think thats a positive sign for upcoming rotations, but aside from scoring well on exams, I feel this is going to be limited in its effectiveness.

So I turn to the SDN community: I know I go to an offshore school, I know I am at a disadvantage so please dont bother chiming in to remind me of that. Im just a guy willing to break his back to get ahead, and looking for advice on how to do so. Any tangible activities that can help beef up the resume NOW (or heck, tell me ideas for the future too) would be greatly appreciated.