too old to be a surgeon?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfingphd

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently a phd student in bioengineering and I will be finishing up by the end of summer of 2008. I hope to start medical school in fall 2010.

By the time that I start medical school, I will be thirty years old. If I go into surgery (which really interests me, especially since I love working with my hands), I will not be done with my training until I am 40.

I am interested that I will be too old to be surgeon and that I will have a very short career, especially since manual dexterity decreases with age.

Am I dreaming or should I go for it? I'm having a really hard time right now since most of my college friends are finishing up medical school right now. What makes it harder for me is that I had far better numbers and resumes than all of them during college...my friends have alway asked me why I did not go into medicine. At the time when I started grad school, I was set on starting a biotech company...now all I want to do is interact with people and make their lives just a little better...plus in grad school I realized that I love physiology.

It feels hopeless sometimes.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Paging njbmd, Dr. njbmd to the white courtesy phone please.

I wouldn't worry about this early in the game. You won't even be a student until 2010? And if you become a surgeon at 40....you probably have 20 good years yet.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,

I am currently a phd student in bioengineering and I will be finishing up by the end of summer of 2008. I hope to start medical school in fall 2010.

By the time that I start medical school, I will be thirty years old. If I go into surgery (which really interests me, especially since I love working with my hands), I will not be done with my training until I am 40.