Took Step 2 today - So Frustrated

Discussion in 'Step I' started by musicman1991, May 1, 2004.

1. musicman1991

musicman1991 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

I took Step 2 today. Let me say - it was a BLOODBATH. I don't think any of my studying helped me except get the easy questions. Towards the end I was so tired. I know 95% of US Seniors pass but I swear I hope I don't have to go through this ordeal again. I don't even know if I could start my residency! I was really down earlier but I've accepted there is nothing I can do and to try to enjoy my 4 weeks until I get my results!

My advice: don't study more than 1 week for it. I studied for 2 and only 1 week helped me. Qbank was useless. That questions were so much more intricate and the vignettes were SO long. The best question source was the 150 free questions they give out on usmle.org

I looked at some of hte other posts and it sound like a familiar story for ohters. I don't wish having to take Step 2 on anyone. Step 1 is much easier and first aid for step 1 is a godsend. The prep materials for Step 2 don't do much.

Anyways I could use some support so feel free to drop some!

2. mjl34

mjl34 Member
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    you'll be fine (if my experience has any impact on your score anyway :) )

I studied for about two weeks (but it seemed like never more than 20 minutes at a time) and only dropped three points from my step one score.

I also felt bad after taking it, so just enjoy the next four weeks and don't worry about it - since worrying won't raise your score anyway.

3. musicman1991

5+ Year Member

Thanks man. Pray for me anyways!

4. Al Pacino

Al Pacino Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Man, that sux. Please share your advice on Step II I'm taking the deuce in Dec. I had a friend in the previous class who rocked every shelf exam but totally bombed his Step II exam. He said that Step II exam is very unpractical at times, with their focus on unusual diseases.

5. musicman1991