transfer from PhD to MD ( / Phd)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I know about a person who

• transfered from a PhD track to an MD program

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

mirrorimage

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I really need your advice.

I am a third year PhD student in a medical-related field of a high profile university. I am doing well in the PhD program, but I have been thinking about transferring into MD(- PhD) program for a long time now. I even applied to MD - PhD the summer of my first year. The clinical field continues to attract me. I realize that this is not a traditional case, but I am very interested in making this transition. Are any of you considering something similar or have already done it? Theoretical suggestions are also very welcome.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Dear QofQuimica, thank you for an excellent link. It answers a lot of my questions. For a few points, however, I could use more detail.

The most challenging one, perhaps, is how to be straightforward with a PI and not burn bridges. One possibility is to keep the same lab, and it would help me to learn about the people who did so already (i.e. transferred into MD / PhD, but kept the same lab). How far along their PhD were they? What schools allow such a transition? Alternatively, some people may have transfered completely. How did they manage the relationship with their boss and their committee?

Thanks a lot, it really helps to know about people in a similar situation.