Quantcast

transfer MD PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDori

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I got accepted into a PhD program in engineering at very good tech university that doesn't have a medical school... should i drop out and wait till i get accepted in another one? or wait and transfer next year or the one after into one that has an MD Phd program

given:
i have no research experience, yet
ive been out of work and taking care of my baby daughter for a few years, so basically if i dont go i have nothing to do next year to add to my experience !

Barley426

MD Class of 2017
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Its been covered before in the forums but the bottom line is, its very very hard to transfer from PhD to MD/PHD. It's even harder when your PhD program is not a medically relevant PhD with an affiliated medical school. Neither are impossible, and have happened in the past depending on who you talk to, although they are very rare.

You'd be much better off applying MD/PhD, or just straight MD if thats what you really want.

Last edited:

K31

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It is extremely difficult to switch for a PhD program into a MD/PhD program at the same school, and virtually impossible if your school doesn't have a MD/PhD program.

Also, without any research experience you aren't going to get into a MD/PhD program.

Neuronix

Total nerd
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Based on your post history you are also an international student. You have no chance at MD/PhD at this time, nor would you be accepted in transfer. Your best chance, depending on the rest of your application, would be to have a successful PhD, become a US permanent resident or citizen, do very well on the MCAT, and apply to medical school after completing your PhD. This would assume an otherwise strong transcript before the PhD.

DrDori

Reaction score