Transferring from Ross

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

med_student

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd semster student at Ross and I wanted to transfer to a US school. I wanted to know if there was anyone who has been through this process to help me out. What is the best time to apply and what schools should I look into, I am specifically looking into the East coast. If anyone has any suggestions, that would be great. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

There are 11 of us who transferred into Drexel class of 2007 this year. Out of the 11, 7 were from SGU, 3 from Ross, and 1 from Autonomous university of guadalajara. The only other school that had open spaces for carib students this year was NEOUCOM. Every year the number of slots varies. You're going to have contact schools directly to see if they take carib students and if they have any spots. Since applications are due by may, you are going to want to take your usmle by april prefferably in march of the year that you want to apply. I know you guys at ross do that semester in miami, so you might want to consider taking the usmle before that semester starts in order to have your scores in on time. On a side note, for all of us that got in, all of our gpas from med school were pretty good (at least 3.5+, all the ross students had 4.0s) and step1 scores of 230-260. Mcat scores were decent (27-35) and most of us came from well known undergrad universities. Hope this helps.
So at this point, ask some proffessors if they'd be willing to write you letters of rec in the future, your going to need at least 2 and a extra deans letter. keep your grades up and rock your boards. Its going to be just pure luck if there are any available spaces the year you apply. This year was an expecially good year for transfer students.
Good Luck to you,
berk