Dec 2, 2010
Status
After shadowing my uncle who is a licensed pharmacist I absolutely fell in love with the profession and as a result I want to pursue a career as a pharmacist. I'm hoping to apply for Massachusetts School of Pharmacy (Boston Campus) as a transfer student (Pharm MD program) because it seems like they accept transfers and since I happen to live in Boston. Currently, I have a bachelors in biology with a minor in mathematics (3.87 cumulative GPA). Are there any other schools that I should perhaps look at that accept people like me? Or do they all strictly only accept students from their 0-6 programs.

Do I have a shot at getting in? If anyone has any experience with transferring into this particular program could you please share? :)

Thank you in advance.

EnfieldGal

Scrambling for Deposit $$
Sep 24, 2010
Northern Connecticut
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
Welcome aboard!

Are you tied to the Boston area? MCP Boston is next to impossible to transfer into (15 seats/year), and Northeastern doesn't do transfers period. Sorry, your odds are not good despite your degree and GPA.

Other programs you should look at in the area are University of New England (Portland, ME), MCP-Worcester (obvious), and Western New England College (Springfield, MA). WNEC is my top choice, I don't know too much about UNE, I've said my peace about MCP-W elsewhere.

If you aren't stuck in New England, there are PLENTY of schools that would happily take a 3.87 bio major...so long as your PCAT is good:)

Good luck

Sine Cura

10 seconds or less
7+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2010
Status
Pharmacist
I would give it a shot for this application cycle (for fall 2011) since you do live in Boston, as long as you're aware there are a limited number of seats. The number of available seats depends on how many students drop out before the professional phase (before year 3).