Jul 28, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Hi all!

I am a foreign medical student coming to the US this winter and I'm trying to decide whether to take a trauma elective in University of Maryland or Cook County hospital. My main concern is "hands-on" work - Are students allowed to do any procedures? Which are allowed? What is the basic workday comprised of? What time do rounds start in the morning? Anyone know which center is better for students?

Thanks ahead of time!

Rendar5

15+ Year Member
Nov 12, 2003
Florida
Status
Attending Physician
I'm not too familiar with cook, but I'd also look into Grady and University of Miami as other viable options. The hospital that deals with the most trauma with a decent mix of blunt and penetrating) would probably be your ideal situation so I'd specifically ask around on those questions. Also, som e of the questions you brougth up in your post such as student responsibility and workday could potentially be answered by contacting those programs by e-mail or phone.

LadyWolverine

10+ Year Member
Aug 17, 2004
Hiding in your closet
Status
Attending Physician
By trauma, do you mean a trauma surgery rotation? Are you going into EM or gen surg-->trauma surg? I ask this because if you come to U of MD, get ready for q3 call and several hours of rounding each morning. You'll get to do procedures in the TRU (as a 3rd year I got to put in a couple A-lines, *attempt* a central line (did not get it on first try and resident took over), lots of suturing lacs, lots of general trauma evals/C-spine evals, tons of FAST scans, and maybe 2 ultrasound-guided IVs), but a lot of the really "cool" stuff is going to get snapped up by the residents. The OR is "optional" for students doing electives (those interested in emergency med and not surgery usually opted not to go to the OR).