trying not to give up...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alyla

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here's the scoop:
I'm an NYU grad, majored in anthropology. Took a 5th year to write an undergrad thesis. Graduated 2007.

BCPM GPA: 3.10
AO GPA:3.86
Total GPA: 3.61

MCAT 9/10/11/R

I took a year off to work as a medical assistant, do additional volunteer work, etc.

I applied to 36 schools this cycle (amcas complete in September, most secondaries done October, a few November). My plan was to travel this year when the application saga was complete....ya, right. Not only did I not travel, I haven't been offered even one interview :(

I'm still in the running at Drexel, Jefferson, Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, Temple, UCONN, UIC at Chicago. I've been rejected pre-interview everywhere else, including my state schools.:cry:

so...now what? re-apply immediately? take a few classes? SMP (though admittedly I REALLY don't want to do this)?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...I'm trying not to lose hope, while trying to be realistic. :help:

Members don't see this ad.

You may have just applied too late. Also, if you haven't been offered an interview at this point, it isn't happening so make plans for the next year ASAP. Some places take forever to send out rejection letters (Drexel sent mine out last July!!).

The good news is I was in a similar boat (didn't get a single interview last year) and got in this year to U of Wisconsin, although my scores were a bit higher.

15P/14B/11(damn dyslexia)V and an R on the writing so 40R.
total GPA 3.6 BCMP 3.8-ish

The truth is I just got everything in too late (I also was turning secondaries in October-November). I also wrote a god-awful personal statement last year and got some help writing a much better one this year.