tuition

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

behand

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, does any body know what the criteria is to get bank loans for tuitions. I am a Canadian student and I want to know if I am eligible. Is it easy to get the loan once you are accepted?(providing my acceptance letter)
I am getting into BU.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know how it works for Canadian students. Here, we fill out a FAFSA form for federal aid, and then my school finds the other loan sources for us, up to the maximum amount we are allowed (which is the "cost of living" amount).

It's ridiculously simple to get loans, and I'm guessing you'll not have any problems. As a sidenote, you don't show anybody your acceptance letter for loans. All loans, or at least the ones that are deemed educational loans, are run through the dental school you are attending.

If you want to go down to the bank on the corner and take out a personal loan, that's another story. But dental school loans require literally nothing more than a couple of signatures on some forms that the financial aid office at the school will mail to you.

Hey Behand...how did your regional interview go this weekend in Toronto??

Anyways, getting loans as a Canadian is not as easy as Gavin described for American students. Your credit history comes into play and will effect your ability to get loans. And also, you must go through Canadian banks to get loans, because American loaners will require an American co-signer. If you are looking into bank loans, start looking at the big banks like Scotia, CIBC, etc. I believe they have loans directed towards students like yourself.

Members don't see this ad :)