Two-body problem and highest utility away rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ImpotentGray

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning to apply for radiation oncology next year and am starting to look at away rotations (3) to do from July-September. I am also going to be married to a 2nd year(one year behind me, will be a MS3 during my application cycle) soon. I am trying to decide how best to address the two-body problem we have put ourselves in and am thinking that doing aways in cities with many radiation programs(NYC, Philadelphia, Chicago, LA) and and other residencies in general is the way to go to ensure the highest chance that my fiance will be able to follow me. (She is currently thinking IM->Cards, but just started clinics, so we'll see where she ends up).

I am a resident of texas and going to school here and was planning to do a rotation or 2 in TX and one out of state.

There are programs that I am very interested in doing aways at that are the only radiation program in a large radius lack other hospitals that could serve as backup options for my fiance for here application cycle when she attempts to follow me.

Thoughts/advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Oh and before anyone suggests, I'm already on a research year.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad :)
if she is really set on doing IM and is a good candidate then it shouldn't be too hard for her to match in the same city as you if you are in a major city.

Should be possible, you only apply for prelim/transitional years in your current city (Stay together for your PGY1 and her MS4 year), and then she applies for categorical positions in medicine or whatever she can wherever you end up matching.