Two questions for experienced pre-med students

ATLHawks

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently found out that I have not been accepted into my BS/MD program, so it looks like I'm going the regular pre-med route. I have some things I need help with now.

1.) My Major Issue (No pun intended): I have been bouncing back and forth in deciding a major and I am still in high school. I understand that it would be best to do a major that interests me. I think Biology would fit my interests, but I am honestly afraid of taking Calculus because I am struggling with it now. I feel that if I major in psychology, my other choice, I would be able to take and easier math to ease my college experience. Do most medical schools recommend Calculus anyway? Although I am struggling with Calc now, should I fear it in college?

2.) Now that I know that I do not have a conditional acceptance to a medical school, I want to make sure that I am doing the best I can from the start. This means I want to get a head start in extracurriculars, volunteer hours, research, and of course studying for my MCAT; I feel overwhelmed right now though. Where should I start? I am considering keeping a log from now of all my extracurriculars, service and clinical hours. Is this a good idea?Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I recently found out that I have not been accepted into my BS/MD program, so it looks like I'm going the regular pre-med route. I have some things I need help with now.