Types of experience...I need advice

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by klebsiella, Jul 22, 2006.

1. klebsiella

klebsiella Member
    2+ Year Member

I was wondering if someone could give me their opinion. I will be attending Creighton this fall and I have no pharmacy experience. I have several years of R&D exp in drug development, biomaterials and research exp from when I got my BS, but nothing directly related to pharmacy. So i have started looking for a pt job and a few options have arose, I was hoping someone could help me "see" what would be the better long term decision for someone getting a PharmD.

1) Research with a Med School professor (his focus is on transplantation)
    2) Research with a Dental school prof (focus on dental materials)
    3) Walgreens
    4) Grocery chain pharmacy

Since I have done research, the first two appeal to me a little more because I have experience, but a voice in my head tells me that it would be more beneficial in the long run to jump into a pharmacy setting and sink or swim.

Thoughts?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. sdn1977

sdn1977 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Personally, I don't think there is any one good path for work experience, especially for a part time job when you are first starting school - UNLESS you know for sure what aspect of pharmacy you want to pursue.

However, if you're like most first years, you probably don't have a clue where you'll want to go in 3-4 years or even 10. My opinion, for right now, get the job which gives you the most flexibility time-wise. You may want that time to study, volunteer for school-sponsored activities like drug education clinics, etc..

Don't get a job in which you have absolutely no interest - what good does that do you? If you really hate immunology, you won't like the med school job - just as an example. If money is an issue, you must consider the pay above all things.