Typing vs. Writing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasGuy41

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is anyone else finding it VERY difficult to find a typewriter? And I'm not good at using them so it always looks crappy. Is anyone just printing neatly? Does it even matter?

Members don't see this ad.

i handwrote a couple of apps. a lot of people here will tell you don't do it. i felt like finishing them rather than sitting on them so decided to do them neatly in pen. i handwrote every college and grad school app and had no problem with it. med school's a bit different b/c there are so many applicants, but i am willing to take my chances.

I have an old Texas Instruments Electronic Typerwriter/Word Processor.

I plan to use that.. if it still works.

Members don't see this ad :)
i handwrote. i think it's fine. do a search on this topic if you want to see a debate that shows just how anal med school applicants can be (myself included). :D

I think it's personal preference. I don't think one is better than the other and both seem to lead to interviews, acceptances, etc. There is potential for both type and handwritten secondaries to look either nice or terrible. So I say do what you want.

Obviously it's personal preference as already pointed out, but just for the record, I hand-wrote all of my applications (except those that were submitted online). So far, I don't feel I am at any disadvantage, as I have received 5 interviews out of 7 secondaries. Of course, I dont know yet whether these will result in acceptances, but I will keep ya posted!! Anyway, regardless of what some will say, my experience shows that hand-writing is acceptable. Hope that helps!

This topic is back again?!

I HANDWROTE, and STAPLED my picture on the Georgetown application (save the essay which i was able to attach) and got an interview (i dont know if that means much)