UCLA vs Columbia vs MCG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lexi517

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I have been accepted to dental school at UCLA, Columbia and MCG (my state school). I am having trouble with this decision. MCG is much cheaper but I don't want to spend 4+ years in Augusta, GA. UCLA and Columbia seem to have better programs and opportunities to specialize. Any thoughts/opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Greetings! I am also a GA resident and got accepted to MCG this cycle. For the same reason, I wanted to go OOS (in my case UAB or Maryland). BUT I am like 98% sure I will be attending MCG because of the super duper cheap cost and the scholarship they recently offered me. If money is not an issue, I would go OOS! Just my 2 cents ;)

You will always be able to specialize in any school, just do well and earn high marks on your ADAT. Additionally, you might not even end up specializing, attend the cheaper school!

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You will always be able to specialize in any school, just do well and earn high marks on your ADAT. Additionally, you might not even end up specializing, attend the cheaper school!
Easier said than done. With dental school you're taking a collection of high caliber students and forcing a grade distribution. Plenty of smart, hardworking people won't be getting "high marks". At the same time, paying back huge loans isn't as easy as people like to think.

Take your mental health into account. Is spending 4 years in Augusta such an awful idea that you'd be willing to pay a massive sum to avoid it?

Reactions: 1 user
Would rather live in Southern California or Manhatten?

You could go to the Masters 4 years in a row!!