UCSD MSTP v. Harvard NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mosquito

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey all, looking for comments. just heard that I got into Harvard NP. wondering what everyone thought about interviews, friends at these facilities, or hearsay about Harvard or UCSD. While I am a scientist at heart, and have UCSD MSTP, wondering about in-house MD/PhD at Harvard. Also pondering straight MD at Harvard with research afterwards ( my PI did this, and is a Howard Hughes fellow). From the allopathic site, I've been getting some serious negative vibes off of UCSD (but my interview was great and it seemed like the students were doing good).
so my situation is from almost exact opposites: choosing between full-funded at UCSD or 50k/year at Harvard. Now I can hear the calls coming in saying "it depends what career you want" I'm not totally sure, so as i sees it my options are (please comment on any of my +/-

UCSD:pros: great location, great location, great location, excellent research, full-funded, Salk/Scripps PhD program, great housing, fun people
cons: (from SDN forums) extremely competitive, 30hrs/wk in class, sub-par hospital rotations, little diversity 90% CA residents

Harvard:pros: great hospitals, prestige, NP program, Red Sox, diversity of students, research
cons: pay my way, maybe PhD program, cold Boston winters

Now this is a difficult one for me, because I love research and had a great time visiting UCSD. The MSTP class was great and incoming MSTP's were a cool bunch with a good vibe. However once meeting the incoming med students the vibe changed a bit, and I was a little put off. SD is a great place to live and I could easily see myself there for x number of years
Harvard was great, good people, decent town, however getting into the MD/PhD program internally is the tough road I see ahead of me.