UK to Canada

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oxi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a medical student studying in the UK now and I'm just a bit confused about the whole going back to Canada thing. Just hoping some of you could clear things up for me. Is there any way I can transfer to a medical school in Canada in my third year or something? I'm guessing even if you could, the chances are really low.. which leads me to my second question. I've read a lot about IMGs in Canada, can I apply for residency in Canada after my 5 years of med school? Or would I have to do my two foundation years in the UK before applying for residency in Canada?

Thanks a lot in advance for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

I would be interested in hearing more about this as well. Anyone?

Is there any way I can transfer to a medical school in Canada in my third year or something?
No. Canadian schools do not accept international transfers - American schools do.
I've read a lot about IMGs in Canada, can I apply for residency in Canada after my 5 years of med school?
Yes. Most do.

What did you know before applying and getting accepted abroad? Kinda a big gamble (and blind) not knowing the above before going away, don't you think especially not knowing the questions above?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey guys, I'm a medical student studying in the UK now and I'm just a bit confused about the whole going back to Canada thing. Just hoping some of you could clear things up for me. Is there any way I can transfer to a medical school in Canada in my third year or something? I'm guessing even if you could, the chances are really low.. which leads me to my second question. I've read a lot about IMGs in Canada, can I apply for residency in Canada after my 5 years of med school? Or would I have to do my two foundation years in the UK before applying for residency in Canada?