UMDNJ vs Temple?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentalprodigy

Mr. Awesome
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Need some perspective deciding b/w these two schools.
UMDNJ:
- I'm a NJ resident
- like UMDNJ
- vibe from students not soo much [could be just my experience]

TEMPLE:
- liked student confidence + sense of camaraderie there
- don't like paying extra for similar clinical experience [compared to UMDNJ]

Any thoughts appreciated?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in the same situation as you, but I think I'm gonna go with UMDNJ cause it is cheaper.....yes it is true that I got more of a sense of camaraderie from Temple, but in my opinion UMDNJ is still the better deal...plus I already know a handful of people going to UMDNJ from the gateway to dentistry program, so if you go to UMDNJ I can guarantee you that there will at least be a few cool people to chill with

Don't pay for something you have in your state. Go to UMDNJ, it is widely recognized on the east coast, no need to go to Temple.

Members don't see this ad :)
Need some perspective deciding b/w these two schools.
UMDNJ:
- I'm a NJ resident
- like UMDNJ
- vibe from students not soo much [could be just my experience]

TEMPLE:
- liked student confidence + sense of camaraderie there
- don't like paying extra for similar clinical experience [compared to UMDNJ]

Any thoughts appreciated?

If you're a NJ resident you would be shooting your future self in the foot not to go to your in-state school and saving money. Think about it this way, assuming you're taking out loans, and the price difference (including interest), is more than 30-50k. That's a bmw (maybe used, but still). So, UMDNJ + BMW, or Temple and no BMW. But my advise might be biased because I'm waiting for a spot at Temple, lol. But my true thoughts are to really, really consider costs.

UMDNJ is obviously significantly cheaper.