1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Undergrad Grades and doing Residency???

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by BUSDDS, Mar 22, 2007.

1. BUSDDS

Pre-Dental
    Do residency programs look at your grades as an undergrad (specifically if you have a W)? I am looking towards going into pedo or becoming a gp. I ask because I am a non traditional student who have gotten into dental school. The school that I will be attending have informed me I could drop my spring semester courses because I have already recieved my degree and completed my pre-requisites.

I want to drop the courses (upper level science courses) but with that I will have "W"s on my transcript and I do not want it to affect my chances at doing a residency program especially pedo or a gpr. I do know some OMFS programs will ask for your undergrad grades because it combines with medical school acceptances but other then that?? Thanks for all the replys!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. ItsGavinC

Dentist Moderator Emeritus 15+ Year Member

Dentist
    They won't look at your undergraduate grades for pedo, don't worry about it.

4. BUSDDS

Pre-Dental
    Thanks for the reply! I assume for gpr's they also wont look at your undergrad grades? which programs actually look at them? thanks in advance!

5. jmjfb23

5+ Year Member

Dental Student
    Mainly just the MD OMFS programs or at least the med school part would look at undergrad grades. If there are more feel free to correct me.

6. shabu2

10+ Year Member

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    OMFS, most Ortho for shizzle.

7. shabu2

10+ Year Member