Undergrad Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

djfermion

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm an undergrad right now majoring in physics and currently doing physics research. My major question was whether med schools care what kind of research you do. Would it be more beneficial finding a research position at a cancer research facility or with an immunologist or something or is physics research on equal footing with other fields.

Also, I have other unrelated questions if you guys wouldn't mind giving me some insight.

-I go to a heavily humanities focused university, but I am a very science oriented person so I do not do too well in some of the required classes. Which GPA is more important, overall or science?

-Also, do med schools consider A+'s as higher weight in the GPA because my university does, which obviously boosts my GPA, but will med schools only count an A+ as a 4 instead of a 4.33?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys I'm an undergrad right now majoring in physics and currently doing physics research. My major question was whether med schools care what kind of research you do. Would it be more beneficial finding a research position at a cancer research facility or with an immunologist or something or is physics research on equal footing with other fields.

its the same deal as picking a major. adcoms don't care what you choose, as long as you enjoy doing it and have a meaningful experience. you wont be looked down upon for doing physics research. if you've gotta good thing goin right now, stick with it and dont worry about doing anything else.

Also, I have other unrelated questions if you guys wouldn't mind giving me some insight.

-I go to a heavily humanities focused university, but I am a very science oriented person so I do not do too well in some of the required classes. Which GPA is more important, overall or science?